How Do I Know If I Have Whiplash?

How Do I Know If I Have Whiplash: Utah Chiropractic

So you’ve been in a car accident and you haven’t felt quite the same since. You’re sore, uncomfortable, and you don’t have the same range of motion as before. How do you know if your injuries are actually whiplash resulting from your car accident? Well let’s turn to the all powerful Wikipedia for some help. The following was adapted from the article “Whiplash (medicine)” from Wikipedia.

What is Whiplash?

Whiplash is a non-medical term describing a range of injuries to the neck caused by or related to a sudden distortion of the neck[1] associated with extension.[2] The term “whiplash” is a colloquialism. “Cervical acceleration-deceleration” (CAD) describes the mechanism of the injury, while the term “whiplash associated disorders” (WAD) describes the injury sequelae and symptoms.

What Causes Whiplash?

What Are the Signs and Symptoms of Whiplash?

  • Pain and aching of the neck and back
  • Referred pain to the shoulders
  • Sensory disturbance (such as “pins and needles”) to the arms & legs
  • Headaches

When Do Whiplash Symptoms Occur?

Where Does Whiplash Occur?

  • Whiplash is usually confined to the spinal cord
  • The most common areas of the spinal cord affected by whiplash are the neck, and the mid-back (middle of the spine).
  1. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. “Q&A: Neck Injury”. http://www.iihs.org/research/qanda/neck_injury.html#1. Retrieved 2007-09-18.
  2. ^whiplash” at Dorland’s Medical Dictionary
14 thoughts on “How Do I Know If I Have Whiplash?

  1. Whiplash sucks! I remember having a headache for a month after my car accident before I went and saw a chiropractor. I didn’t know my insurance would cover the cost, and after my first visit I was already feeling better. I definitely recommend taking advantage of your insurance and getting chiropractic care to anyone after a car accident.

  2. Pingback: How to file my auto accident claim for my chiropractic care in Utah? « getbalancedhealth

  3. Pingback: Injuries Caused by Terrible Accidents | Living Healthy

  4. Pingback: What Is A Chiropractic Adjustment? | getbalancedhealth

  5. Projective tests: In these tests the therapist would present ambiguous stimuli to the patient’pictures that aren’t supposed to be anything in particular.
    Once enrolled in a program, you can maximize your potential for earning a
    master degree or doctoral degree by networking with other
    students and appropriately managing your study and work time.
    Interested in pursuing a higher degree in psychology.

  6. What you said made a great deal of sense. However, what about this?
    what if you typed a catchier post title? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added a title that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean How Do I Know If I Have Whiplash?

    | getbalancedhealth is kinda plain. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news headlines to get viewers to open the links. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.

  7. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  8. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put
    in writing this website. I am hoping to check out the
    same high-grade content by you in the future as well. In fact,
    your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own website now 😉

  9. Howdy great website! Does running a blog such as this require a
    great deal of work? I have absolutely no knowledge of programming but
    I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject nevertheless I simply needed to ask.

    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

